Call to Action or Do they get it yet?

Posted: June 13, 2007 in Blogging, blogroll, Blogs I'm reading!, Community, Consumer Issues, Credit, F4Y Picks, Family, Finance For Youth, Life, School

For years, I have been railling against the stupidity of the education system, and the priority that is placed on things that MOST students will never need. I’ve been a strong advocate for mandatory Driver’s-ed as well as mandatory Personal Finance. In many cases, the response was the local bank or credit union sending a cheerleader to sell their products to high school students. That was in the best of circumstances.

Marketwatch has an article, “An ‘F’ for economics curriculum” that talks about the same things I have been talking about for years. Is this new to them? Probably not, but it has also never been a priority for anybody at the federal, state, or local levels.

I know more than a few parents read this blog, and many young adults. This is another call for advocacy here. We need to get this going in our schools. In California, we waste so many hours in school dealing with nonsense. We need to start preparing the next generation for the future. The article scares me. I don’t care that there are 7 states that require finance education, if 43 don’t.

Get involved, contact the local, state, and federal authorities to get mandatory finance education in schools.

Comments
  1. […] to focus on. In fact, I think I really have only championed a couple of causes in these pages, HERE and HERE most notably. I’m sure there are others, but these are the ones that stray furthest […]

Leave a comment