Every year, around this time of year, PF people will post their most popular posts of the previous year. Well, I’m no different! Since 2011 will usher in changes to F4Y, I want to put a period at the end of everything that happened this year. What follows is a list of the top ten posts from Finance For youth: The Blog of all time!

I’d appreciate any feedback on the new look and feel of Finance For Youth: The Blog. Nothing is ever written in stone, but I think this new look speaks more to young people than the old one did. If you disagree, bring it on!

 10.Where the current economic problems started: Way back in 2009, I attempted to pinpoint where the economic problems we are still experiencing started. My basic conclusion is that kids aren’t, and haven’t been taught basic economic and financial principles in school to a sufficient extent. My opinion here hasn’t changed.

 9.Honor: The Most Important Quality of Success: Even further back, in 2007, I presented the Qualities of Success. These are qualities that everybody needs to posess in order to achieve success. Honor, while a shorter post, is one of my personal top three Qualities. The advice here is deceptively basic: Do the right thing and do your best to follow all the Qualities of Success.

 8.Moving Out: This is one of a few posts I did where I talked to young  people about the importance of thinking through the inevitable decision to move out on your own. In this post, I encouraged young people to write down and think about their reasons for wanting to move out.

 7.Thoughts on Marriage and long-term commitment: This is actually one of the posts that heavily influenced the idea of writing Finance For Youth: The Book. I’ll boil down my thoughts on young people making these kinds of decisions: Prenuptial Agreement!

 6.Shh! We don’t talk about that here: Last year, I went to a Christmas party. I found out that people don’t know a whole lot about personal finance, and they are afraid to ask. Another great reason for me to write F4Y:TB. Nothing should ever be taboo to discuss when it comes to finance. If you don’t know something, make damned sure you ask!

5.Dating advice for Young People: I’m married now, so my dating has been severely curtailled, but even as an old, married man, I suggest being honest with your partner and finding someone who is on the same page as you are when it comes to personal finance.

4.The truth about Bank of America: Originally, I wanted to like BofA. At the time of this post, I kind of did. Of course, since then, they have done plenty to F$#k up their reputation even more.

3.QUALITIES OF SUCCESS: Starting the top three is actually the whole page of the Qualities of Success. This page lists all the qualities, provides a link, and gives a very brief description.  I feel good about my readers that this is in the top three.

2.Where Should I Put My Money?: This is another one that turned into a huge part of F4Y:TB. I talk briefly about the differences and similarities of Banks and Credit Unions.
 

And the number one, numero uno, most popular post is…,

1.#1 Rule for Becoming Rich if You Are Young: This is one of the earliest posts and another one that figures prominently in the creation of F4Y:TB. I won’t ruin the surprise with any spoilers here, if you want to know, check it out!
 

 

One thing that I am keeping with the new look is that I like to include music videos.  Some are new, but many are older and more obscure.  These videos could open your mind to some music that you’ve never considered before.  I try to tie them to the theme of the post whenever possible, but sometimes I just like the song.  Today, the song is post-appropriate.  Enjoy!

 

 



 



Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Comments
  1. beachbody coach says:

    Simplicity is an exact medium between too little and too much.

  2. Ka Gonzalaz says:

    Most what i read online is trash and copy paste but you definitely add value. Keep it like this.

    • Wil says:

      @Ka:

      Thank you! I try to provide original content. Sometimes it comes easy, but other times…, well, that’s why I take breaks occasionally.

  3. Tiffiny Bussing says:

    I am developing a blog and I am trying to find a new template.Yours looks pretty decent! You could visit my website and tell me your opinion!

    • Wil says:

      @Tiffiny:

      I’m probably the last person you would want giving you advice about the way a blog looks. That being said, drop me a line at w-i-l-@-f-i-n-a-n-c-e-4-y-o-u-t-h-.-c-o-m (without the dashes) and I’d be glad to take a look.

Leave a Reply

