Okay, this isn’t the first book review I’ve been asked to do, but this is the first one I’ve accepted.  In fact, I actively volunteered for this one for a couple of reasons.  The first one is that Shannon took the time to read Finance For Youth:  The Book, and I think fair is fair.  The second, and more to the heart is I thought reading this book would help me to get my message out to my readers better than I am now.  I figured, what’s the worst that could happen?
 
So I asked Shannon to allow me to read the book.  Honestly, I wasn’t sure what to expect.  Generally I get bored with these types of books very quickly because they either go way under my ability and turn me off, or they go way over my head and I get frustrated.  I hate being frustrated.
 
I started reading this book and almost immediately started saying things like, “I didn’t know that”, or “Well, that makes sense, why didn’t I think of that?”, or even a few versions of “Huh?”.  The book isn’t written over my head, nor is it under my ability.  Let me give you a better idea.  I’m no genius.  I frequently misspell frequently misspelled words.  I’m no slouch either.  I’m proud of the fact that I essentially taught myself much of what I needed to know in order to pass the tests that helped get me in a classroom.  I guess I’m average.
 
But in being average, I feel that I’m like a lot of people out there.  I use Twitter, but probably not to the full potential.  I have a blog, but I’m sure I could do more with it.  Just like a lot of other people out there.  Given that, I feel uniquely qualified to tear into this book and give it a good once-over.
 

The Definitive Twitter Guide

First thing first:  I thought of all the people I know that could use Twitter that don’t.  I put myself in their shoes.  Shannon jumps right in and answers the two top questions many have.  What is Twitter about?  Why do I care?  Shannon does a great job of answering those questions in a way that makes me care about those answers.

Shannon then goes into the nuts and bolts of Twitter.  Twitter isn’t that hard to figure out, but I know I joined just to see what the big deal was.  I wanted to see if this was going to be a thing where teens and young adults frequented (Shannon answered that question too!), so I wasn’t too focused on getting everything done right.  I was aiming for quick.  Reading Shannon’s instructions made me review what I was doing.  I found out I was doing some things right and some things very, very wrong.

The best I can say about this book is that this is the first book I’ve read in a looooong time where I found myself trying to follow the instructions while I was reading it!  In most cases, I read a book and mull it over for a while before I start trying to implement the lessons taught.  It might not sound like a big deal, but for me it was huge.

The worst I can say about this book is that Twitter just isn’t for everybody, so this book also just isn’t for everybody.  That’s unfortunate because I think this Twitter is a great tool with a lot of potential that is, as of yet, still unfulfilled.

Overall

I think this book is essential for those who want to use Twitter for more than telling us what you are making for dinner.  When I talk to young people, many want to start some sort of business.  That’s great, and for those people I suggest finding ways to use Twitter to their best advantage.  The Definitive Twitter Guide should be your first stop.

This book is extremely well written, to the point that it could hold my attention long enough for me to read it, start following it, and get up here and write a bunch of words about it.  If you are like me, young enough to use Twitter but old enough to be slightly intimidated by the tech, Shannon makes the information accessible.

The PF guy in me wants to leave it at “buy this book”, but the teacher in me feels the need to jump in as well.  Any of my students will tell you that I rarely give “A’s”.  This is one of those times.

The Definitive Twitter Guide, by Shannon Evans (@shannonevans) is available at AMAZON.COM

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Comments
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Shannon Evans and Wil Stanton, Wil Stanton. Wil Stanton said: Wil says…, First ever book review from Finance For Youth!: Okay, this isn’t the first book review I’ve been aske… http://bit.ly/c1ljL7 […]

  2. jeryy smith says:

    realy its nice to read….

  3. […] more here: First ever book review from Finance For Youth! « Finance For Youth … This entry was posted in Books and tagged financial-liberty, through-financial. Bookmark the […]

  4. […] I’ve mentioned before, I rarely do book reviews. In this case I wanted to do this review because I was so excited about […]

Leave a Reply

