So, here you are, with every adult you have ever met telling you that you can’t make it.  You aren’t good enough, or old enough, or whatever enough.  They want to coddle you.  They want to take care of you.  They feel that without their help, you are doomed to sit in your own filth.

On the right, some are still bitter that you went out and voted for someone with no experience and no qualifications beyond age and citizenship to hold an office.  They see you as misguided and naive.  Additionally, you are too young and inexperienced to have a valid opinion.  Maybe you’ll get there, but you just aren’t ready yet. 

On the left, you are seen as cannon fodder.  They believe that if they throw enough canonical platitudes at you, you will follow them.  Notice, they don’t care anymore about your opinions than the right does, but they sound “cooler”.  They love that you can be so easily manipulated as to fall for a slick marketing campaign that was largely lifted from earlier campaigns.  To wit:

 

 

Some might not see Che Guevarra as a bad guy to copy, and I’m not here to discuss the pros or cons of doing so.  But the concept of revolucion or revolution is something that should be well thought out before embarked on.

This is where it starts getting important, so listen carefully.  Both the left and the right are waging a war where you have to pay the bill.  They are deciding what the sides are, and what the stakes are.  But they aren’t going to be around to pay the bill when it all ends.  Maybe its too late, but now is the time for young people to stand up, take notice, and make their voices heard.

  1. You are being asked to pay for the healthcare of those who have willfully acted in a way to make their healthcare more expensive for themselves.
  2. You are being told that you, with limited income and a different set of priorities, are going to be required to buy insurance.
  3. If you are lucky enough to work for a company that currently offers medical coverage as part of your benefits package, the government is telling you that your benefits will be reduced, and your costs will be increased.

When I was young, my parents always told me that I would eventually be responsible for myself.  That I couldn’t, and shouldn’t rely on others to support me.  When I was young, this meant simple things like:

  • Learning skills that would allow me to function on my own.
  • Taking my education seriously because my chances of success would be shaped by the choices I made in the classroom.
  • Getting a job early and working as hard as I could to keep it.
  • Surrounding myself with people who were as driven as I was, who would motivate me to be my best.

I didn’t always follow their advice, but I realize that this advice was the best I could hope for from them. 

Now it’s your turn:

In the movie, “The Untouchables”, Sean Connery’s character sits down in a church with Kevin Costner’s character.  Costner wants to get the local Chicago kingpin Al Capone and put him in jail.  Costner has been unsuccessful up to that point because everybody seemed to be part of the machine that allowed Capone to thrive.  This scene stuck with me for over 20 years now because Connery asks the question that we all need to start asking ourselves.

So if you are tired of some old person telling you how to spend your hard-earned money, or what you need to do to take care of them when they haven’t tried to take care of themselves, or what school or job you should have, stand the F*** up!

Don’t fall for slick advertising.  Anybody can put their picture on a three-color poster.

Demand better than platitudes.  You want my vote, earn it!

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Comments
  1. king solomon-morgan says:

    If dont want the youth to wast witout knowing, then it’s up to you to do something about it by setting up a business for us.

    • Wil says:

      King:

      That is exactly the problem. Look, if young people don’t want to be involved, that is their right and I can’t make them. I can only help those who are willing to do the work to stop a completely avoidable decline. There are millions of American youth who don’t want to be told that they are going to be responsible for paying for the mistakes of the previous generation.

      Thanks for reading and for the comment!

Leave a Reply

