Annual Reviews

Posted: January 20, 2010 in Blogging, blogroll, Congress, Life, Politics
Tags: , ,

Most employees go through a process about once a year at work that is stressful, and sometimes painful.  Whether this happens on the anniversary of being hired or on some arbitrary day designated by the company, everybody knows when review time is.

More than telling you how you did over the year, these reviews generally also tell you how much of a raise, if any, you may expect, and whether or not you should be worried about having to look for another job soon.

I’ve been through several of these over the years, but it wasn’t until later in my career that the stress and fear was taken out of these procedures.  My dad used to tell me stories about how he never even read his reviews, and he just signed them in order to get out of the meeting.  I never had that kind of confidence.  I always wanted to know what my bosses thought about me so that I could improve.  Later in my career, I realized that my reviews had less to do with my actual performance and more to do with the politics of the company I worked for.  So I too started signing without reading my reviews.

Some of my reviews were pretty funny to read.  Reviews generally list your accomplishments during the previous year, your progress on meeting goals, and commentary from your boss.

At one company, I took a failing branch, made it more profitable than the home office, and forged relationships with the customers that were unprecedented, all of which made the institution more profitable.  This institution was a small institution surrounded by at least four other credit unions that would have been able to buy my credit union outright.  Many individual branches of these credit unions were bigger than our whole institution.  My rating indicated that I met expectations.  More humourous was the commentary that I was a sub-par employee, despite the fact that I saved the credit union from losing one branch, and made the credit union much money.

At another, I was named Employee of the Year.  Not Employee of the Month, or the Quarter, but of the whole year.  Weeks later, I was fired.

Many of my reviews shared a couple of traits.  The subjective portions were almost always slated as negative.  According to these, I was a slacker who barely made it through each year.  The objective portions told a different story.  I always far exceeded goals, made the company tons of money, and was positively viewed by my peers (but not management).  I know what a tough review is.

Today marks the anniversary of B.H. Obama’s most recent job position.  I think it is fitting that we look at his accomplishments, his successes, his failures, and what this past year has actually brought us.

I suppose we need to define what we are looking at when judging the President on his Job Performance.  I saw an e-zine article by ERIC SCHULTZ and I figured this was as good a place to start as any. 

I’m thinking that with a job so important, we should allow the President to set the terms of his review himself.  Candidate Obama issued several criteria on his  CAMPAIGN WEBSITE to judge himself by.  But that wasn’t President Obama.  For that, we turn to his own words, as spoken one year ago today in his INAUGURAL ADDRESS.

The state of our economy calls for action, bold and swift.  And we will act, not only to create new jobs, but to lay a new foundation for growth.  We will build the roads and bridges, the electric grids and digital lines that feed our commerce and bind us together.  We’ll restore science to its rightful place, and wield technology’s wonders to raise health care’s quality and lower its cost.  We will harness the sun and the winds and the soil to fuel our cars and run our factories.  And we will transform our schools and colleges and universities to meet the demands of a new age.  All this we can do.  All this we will do.

Mmm, okay that’s a lot there.  Let’s start with jobs.  At the end of December 2008, unemployment was 7.4%.  Today, it is 10.0%.  I can’t think of any measure that calls that a success.  To be fair, Obama will say that he has created or saved millions of jobs and that the unemployment rate would have been much worse.  Economists will disagree.

Healthcare?  Obama’s signature “reform” has devolved into union payoffs, congressional buy-offs, and senatorial kick-backs.  By any measure, it will cost more money for more Americans than it will save.

Schools?  As an unemployed teacher, i can’t say he is successful here either. 

Apparently, we haven’t done it yet.

Let’s see what else.  He went the Olympic committee to bring the Olympics to the US.  Failed.

He went to Copenhagen to get world leaders to do more for “climate change”, he was told, “Okay, you first.  And you pay for us.”

Politifact has a bunch of other criteria HERE:

Campaigning for his people?  Ask Criegh Deeds, Jon Corzine, or Martha Coakley how they feel.

Given all of this, were Obama to be like all of us who work for a living, he should be scared.  Were it not for the fact that he has a four year contract, he would most likely not receive a second year.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to StumbleuponAdd to TwitterAdd to Technorati

Comments
  1. Wil says:

    A reader sent me an email suggesting I also talk about keeping this country safe. Ft. Hood, Panty Bomber, and others. I’m going with no on this one as well.

    -W

Leave a Reply

