Usually, this time of year is filled with smells of family dinners, pumpkin pie, lots of family, and a general good feeling. I see people posting on Facebook every day with something else they are thankful for. I like to read these, because it refreshes my spirit. I like hearing that some people are still able to express what they are thankful for, especially since it is too difficult for many to find anything to be thankful for.

HIGH UNEMPLOYMENT FOR YOUNG PEOPLE:  Even more sad than the actual statistics is the comments by the older people who commented on this story.  Older people, right or wrong, are angry with their younger competition in the work force.  There used to be a time when young people had certain jobs while they were in school.  When they finished school, they went into other jobs while a new crop of young people came to replace them.  Older workers were more settled in their careers, and didn’t concern themselves too much with the younger generations. 

But now we are in a situation where, because of government incompetence going back to the 90’s (at the very least), older workers are being fired, laid off, or forced into retirement.  The only jobs left for these workers are the low-skilled, lower waged jobs that were held by youth.  So now, congratulations– you might just be in competition with your own father for a job.

UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA TUITION HIKES:  For years, there was an expectation that young people would go to college after high school to prepare them for a career.  In years past, parents would save money to help young people go to school.  Students would often work while going to school, giving them invaluable skills for their later life.  In recent history, parents have started coddling their children, not requiring anything more than attendance from them.  The government made loans easy to get and even easier to avoid paying back, and more people went to college.  Only this time they went without the benefit that working and struggling had previously afforded.  Now, there is an expectation that students will take out loans from the government for college but the well has dried up.

On the other side, in academia, self-important, organized (thug) labor teachers have decided that they deserve an increase by nearly one-third in order to provide a substandard level of education and to indoctrinate young people with open minds into perpetuating the problem.

Our dollar is free-falling while Bernanke, Geithner, and Obama stand, fiddling.  In recent Fed comments, Ben Bernanke essentially says this:  “I know the dollar is worth less and less everyday.  But if I did anything to fix the problem, my buddies (Goldman Sachs) will be in even worse situation.  The only thing we can do is to delay the tidal wave until our kids and grandkids have to pay the bill and we are long gone.”

A new healthcare initiative that will take away your freedom of choice is being voted on.  Not only will this necessarily hurt the quality of care you and your children will receive, but if you don’t buy in to the program, you will go to jail!   That’s right.  young people who are generally healthy, and more importantly, too poor to pay for expensive medical care (which is largely unnecessary anyway) will be sent to jail if they don’t get coverage.

I’m not going to talk about the rationing of health care because this is an issue that faces older people more directly than it does my readers.  But remember that you won’t be young forever.

So, with these and other issues weighing against young people today, can you still be thankful?  I know I can.  Even as an unemployed teacher (who even if employed, would have to fight against criminal unions), there are things that the government can’t take away from me.  Things that make me thankful.

  • I’m thankful for my health.  I am a healthy man who actually looks and feels a little younger than I am.
  • I’m thankful for my family.  Even though there are times when I want to pack everything away and move to Montana, I have a good family, both immediate and extended.
  • I’m thankful for my wife.  Remember how I said I look younger than I am?  My wife really is younger than her years.  But she also supports her husband, even during those tough times.
  • I’m thankful that F4Y is still running strong.  What started out as a whim three or four years ago has grown to a point that people actually have been helped by reading this site.

There are many other things that are more personal, but all of them eventually lead back to those listed above. 

What are you thankful for?  Are you able to see those things in your life that you should be thankful for, or is everything too bleak right now?  Let us know.

No matter what else, try to enjoy time with those you love and who love you this Thanksgiving.

 

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Leave a Reply

