I wish this could happen to me more often!

Posted: October 6, 2009 in Blogging, blogroll, Finance 4 Youth Family, Jobs, Life, Relationships, Working

Sorry for not posting for a while.  A lot of things happened that conspired to get in my way and stop me from posting as I wanted to.  Some were perfect for posting, and will eventually show up here.  Others were deeply personal, and probably tainted my attitudes a little bit towards youth and personal finance.  I had to take some time away to solidify how I felt about this topic.  Those are issues for a later time.

A family member that I have spoken about many times, recently got into a situation that I find highly enviable.  She was offered a job at a company doing what she wanted to do for a living.  Then she got a second call from another company, offering a similar offer.

In this job market, getting even one job offer is something to be proud of, as I was very proud of my family member.  But to be offered two jobs, given her experience and the scarcity of jobs out there, that is amazing, and I was extremely happy for her.  But how should one handle this situation if it ever comes up?

  1. First, whenever offered a job, ask to have some time to consider the offer.  You don’t want to sound too desperate for a job.  You also don’t want to make any snap decisions.  Most companies understand that you need some time.  Don’t take take more than 24-48 hours to make a decision though, or you might wait too long.
  2. Look at the whole offer.  Money is nice, and it may eventually be the determining factor, but there are other things that you should consider before making a decision.
    • Total Salary.
    • Hours (how many hours you will work per week).
    • Schedule.
      • I worked a job where the schedule literally made me sick.  I was working very early in the morning, and I never made the adjustment to the schedule.  The best I could do was muddle through, giving less than I would otherwise be capable of giving.
    • Atmosphere.  Sometimes you feel more comfortable in an office where there is a strict chain of command and communication, other times, you will feel more comfortable in a more casual atmosphere.
  3. Talk to people you trust about the offer(s) you have in front of you.  Your eyes will be clouded by the euphoria of being offered a job.  Other people might see things that you aren’t even looking for.
  4. Once you make a decision, make sure you are gracious and thank all the companies that made you an offer.  Do this before you accept the other job.  You don’t want to alienate a company that was once willing to make you a job offer.  Who knows what the future holds?  Be honest, and explain the reasons why you are taking another job.
  5. In the event that one of the companies offers you a counteroffer, start the process over again, and let the other company know what is going on. 

Communication is the key here.  As long as you are honest and open with all parties, you stand a better chance of not getting screwed.  Of course, this all depends on your personal circumstances.  I know people who have been out of work for a long enough time that they need to take the first job offered to them so they can get to work immediately.  They have bills to pay and self-esteem to rebuild.  But if you are in a situation where you can wait 24-48 hours, you will almost always do better.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Leave a Reply

