Would you do this?

Posted: September 17, 2009 in Blogging, blogroll, Life

Today, we’re talking about how you act at work.  I’m not talking about how you act when you have decided that you are done and there is nothing more to do but sit back and collect paychecks until the boss gets tired of you.  I’m talking about that time, after the “honeymoon” period where everything is good and you are trying to prove yourself.  I’m talking about where you spend most of your time during your career.

And no, this isn’t some allegorical post that takes aim at the politicians that “run” this country.  I’m not talking about Dick Cheney telling Senator Leahy to F-off.  I’m not talking about Joe Wilson calling President Obama a liar.  I’m not even talking about Obama calling Kanye West a jackass.  Although I think all of these offences shouldn’t come without strong consequences, I’m not going to make this post about them.  The only thing I will say is that it is because of the behavior of those that we are supposed to look up to that others are willing to act badly at work.

At one point in my career, I worked with a young lady who was doing well at work.  She made her goals, she was pleasant with the customers, and the staff generally liked her.  But when she was asked to do something for management, she gave attitude.  Around the same time, a friend of mine would go to work every day with a bad attitude towards everything.  She did the bare minimum needed to not get fired.  When I asked her about it, she said that this wasn’t her career, and she didn’t particularly care:  She was doing this for the paycheck.

I wonder, if both of these friends would act the same way in today’s economic circumstances, or were they cocky and rude because times were better?  Does it matter?  Is there ever a time to act less than professional?  Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

