First, a little news and an unsolicited plug.

I’ve mentioned on Facebook that my computer was dying. I liked that computer, but it had a bad motherboard and it had gotten a really bad virus. So it had to go. I think we’ve all seen the commercials for Apple where the cool “hipster” in jeans is talking with the “square” in the brown suit who is less cool. One claim that Apple lovers make is that Apples don’t get viruses. I don’t know how true any of that is, but they are able to charge a premium over PC’s, partially based on the claim of being more reliable. I thought briefly of going with Apple this time, but our previous computer (before the recently departed) was an Apple, and I was not terribly impressed by it. Our last one was a Dell, because both my wife and I use Dells at work. Additionally, because my school has an agreement to allow alumni to get a discount, I was pretty much sold. Based on the amount of stress and heartache I had to deal with, I hope Dell goes back to their “Dude, you gotta get a Dell” slogan. It was simple and painless. We ordered the computer on one Saturday, and it was delivered the next Saturday. So now I have a new computer that is awesome! That’s the news.

The plug. If you are a student, and you are planning to get a new computer, or are planning on upgrading, you have to take advantage of

 

MICROSOFT’S ULTIMATE STEAL

This is a full version of Microsoft Office, including full versions of the following:

  • Word
  • Excel
  • PowerPoint
  • Outlook
  • One Note
  • Groove
  • Publisher
  • Access
  • Info Path

All this for the price of $55.95.  As far as I know, the only requirement is that you are a student with a valid .edu email address.  This saves about 91% off the regular price.  If you can take advantage of it, you should.

 

Now for the post of today.  I spent a lot of time reading some of the other popular blogs out there since getting my new computer, and I saw a trend that concerned me a little.  When I was in a branch, advising individuals, I was careful to provide options, and not to dictate terms whenever possible.  My belief is that people have circumstances in their lives that they won’t tell some people.  For the most part, those circumstances were none of my business.  Other advisors would say, you have to do this, or you can’t do that, and would put conditions on their customers becoming successful. 

I see the same thing among many of the “big” PF people.  My favorite PF expert to hate, Robert Kiyosaki, frequently tells you that you simply cannot become rich outside of his system.  I’ve seen some popular bloggers doing the same thing.  I’m not going to name names, but we’ve all seen them. 

Look.  The truth is, there are many paths to becoming wealthy.  There are many definitions of the word wealthy.  For any one person to tell you that the only way to become wealthy is simply wrong.  Whenever you hear someone tell you that you have todo something in order to reach the result of wealth, stop listening.  Pull up a google list of finance blogs and pick another one to listen to.  Personally, I prefer a google or yahoo search of “youth finance”, and take the first couple of entries (of course, that might be because my sites are in those spots, but whatever).

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Comments
  1. Sri Lestari says:

    Thank for your info mate 😀

Leave a Reply

