Hard times don’t mean selling out on principles.

Posted: April 6, 2009 in Blogging, blogroll, Community, doing good, economy, education, Family, Finance For Youth, Friends, Jobs, Life, Relationships, Working
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Okay, the depression is in full swing now, and despite the cheerleaders in Washington, New York, and the media telling us otherwise, there are no signs of it ending soon.

Recently, I’ve had the opportunity to have some time off while I finished school.  I started getting really antsy lately and decided to go back to work.  There is only so much People’s Court and Judge Judy one can watch before getting a job or taking a long walk off a short pier.  I have experience, but I’ve worked for the perceived bad guys in the past.  Banks and Credit Unions are afraid of hiring people right now because Big Brother is watching.

Schools are hard hit right now, because they have to demonstrate that they are losing money so the unions can extort more tax money from you and me.  I’m kind of screwed.

So I do the right thing.  In addition to continuing to search for a job that I can be happy with, I approached a temp agency.  They got me a job really quickly, and that’s all about that.

Or is it?

See, after doing the job for a few days, I’m starting to become concerned that this isn’t going to be a good placement.  There’s nothing wrong with them, or the company, but it just isn’t a good fit.  I firmly believe that this placement won’t last very long, and the company will be out a good employee, not to mention that I will again be out a job.

I talked to my agent at the temp agency and let her know that I need her to find something else ASAP, and I hope she follows through on this.

Here is where the difficulty comes in for me.  I spend a lot of time telling people that they need to have realistic expectations when it comes to work.  Most of my audience is young with little experience, and so less leverage to wait for something better.  Because of this, I was tempted to sit back and stick to a job that isn’t right for me until I can get back into my career path.

My wife actually is responsible for me talking to my agent.  She pointed out that I have education and experience that few, if any, of my audience share.  She pointed out that when I was young with no experience, I did jobs that I didn’t like.  For that, I have to thank her.

You see, jut because times are hard, doesn’t mean you have to sell out on your principles.  You might have to re-evaluate priorities, but never principles.  The job I’m doing now has several problems, but all jobs do.  My principle is to work a full day and get a full-day’s salary in return.  My principle is to contribute to my own well-being.  My principle is to be productive in society, earning and spending money according to my own wishes, (which strengthens the overall economy).

If this job asked me to do something that I was morally opposed to doing, I wouldn’t hesitate to quit.  One thing that I have been criticized for (fairly or unfairly) is that I won’t go back to former employers.  My reason is that in each case, I have trained someone to replace me, and when I left, empowered them to do the job.  It would be unfair, and I am morally opposed to coming in and taking back what these people have earned over the past months/years.  Besides that, when I was working for these companies, they all had the opportunities to try to keep me working there.  Few have made convincing offers.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Leave a Reply

