“But Wil, if you taught Economics a few years ago, Obama never would have been Elected.”

Posted: March 4, 2009 in Blogging, blogroll, Community, doing good, F4Y Picks, Family, Finance 4 Youth Family, Finance For Youth, Life, Politics, Qualities of Success, Relationships, Saving
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

That’s something that a teacher friend of mine wrote to me after reading my last post.  The part before the “But” was “You got it exactly right”.  This bothered me a little.  I’m not one of those far fringe ideologues from the RIGHT, or from the LEFT.  I have political beliefs that are my own.  Obviously, based on my beliefs that you control your own life and destiny, one can assume that I am more conservative than liberal.   This site isn’t about politics.  When I’m in front of a class, I’m not talking about my political beliefs.  I’m teaching young people the subject at hand.

So when my friend said this, I was thrown a little.  I’ve known this guy for years and I knew he was a very liberal-minded democrat.  There’s nothing wrong with that, as long as you believe in your cause.  My friend cares a lot about kids and has been teaching for quite some time.  I haven’t seen him in class, so I don’t know how much he tries to indoctrinate his students to his beliefs.  I’m going to assume that he is a good teacher that, like me, sticks to the subject and nothing else.

I asked him why he believed Obama wouldn’t have been elected if I taught Economics a few years ago.  I don’t dislike Obama.  There are many things about the way I believe he is handling the economy that I think are wrong.  There are many things that Bush the younger did that I disliked as well.  I didn’t dislike Bush either.  My friend told me that for Obama to “work”, people had to believe that there was no other hope than the government.  For Obama to “work”, people had to believe that they had no control over what happens in their lives.  I countered that the same is true about McCain, that he was very little different than Obama is on many of his positions.

We went back and forth for a while on this when I asked him how he could justify agreeing with my assessment with supporting someone who he believed was harming kids.

“Harm is such a strong word.  What other choice is there?  If Obama fails, we’re all screwed.”

There was a lot more to the conversation, but I was struck by that last comment.  Are we really screwed?

I don’t think so.

I think we are going to have some hard times for a while, like BEFORE, or even like other PLACES have.  The key is that we will go through it– to the other side.  We will make it to a new prosperity.  Hopefully, this one will be based on actual wealth, hard work, and a life based on the QUALITIES OF SUCCESS rather than on greed, speculation, and imaginary wealth.  That depends on you.  Even though many in my generation, and the ones still around before have made up their minds, I think you can do better.

Leave a Reply

