Scams, schemes, and stuff.

Posted: May 22, 2008 in Blogging, blogroll, Community, Finance 4 Youth Family, Jobs, Life, Rip-off, Scams, Working

 

As school starts closing down for yet another year, young people start searching for ways to fill their summer. Some will fill those hours with sleep and partying. Others will fill them with more school, and others will fill them with a job. That’s how I spent many of my summers when I was young. I would sleep at school, and then party at the job! But seriously, many young people are going to be looking for jobs now.

I talk about where to look for work in other places, and I’ve talked about getting GETTING SCAMMED IN THE WORKPLACE before. I think many people understand how to stay out of pyramid schemes by now.

I was at work the other day when something “new” came to my attention. I use the quotes because this is really just a variation on an old scam that hits every few years. Companies are hiring “secret shoppers” to go to specific stores and buy some merchandise with their own money. The company will send a large check to facilitate this transaction. The “shopper” is instructed to take a small fee and wire the rest of the money back to the company.

When I first heard about this (again), it blew my mind that anybody would fall for it. Then I started thinking. If I were young again, and didn’t have the knowledge I have today, would I fall for a scam like this? The answer is no, but I’ve fallen for others.

I mentioned once that I sold knock-off perfume and cologne. This was a pyramid scheme, but on the other side of it, it was a scam just like this. Occasionally, we would go to someplace far away and set up shop for a weekend. We would pay for our own hotel room and some extra supply, and sell our product. If we did well the company would send us a reimbursement check for the expenses of the trip. Looking back, I really don’t know how I could be so gullible.

Look, people– For anybody who doesn’t get it, companies will rarely ask you to pay money to work for them. They will never offer to reimburse you in a way that you have to pay back the reimbursement, barring any mistakes. This is another in a long line of

If it seems too good to be true, it probably is!

If you realize that you have become a victim of a scam like this, return any products you have not paid for and get a receipt. If you have paid for something, try to return it to get your money back. If they can’t give you your money back right away, make them sign a receipt for the products along with a statement saying exactly when you will get your money back, and keep hounding them until you do get it back. Also, make sure you never give them money again. There is no reason for you to do so. Finally, learn from the experience; like I’ve said many times, we all get taken once or twice. That’s not as big a deal as if we keep getting caught making the same mistakes over and over.

Comments
  1. […] Join Payment 2.0 wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptAs school starts closing down for yet another year, young people start searching for ways to fill their summer. Some will fill those hours with sleep and partying. Others will fill them with more school, and others will fill them with a job. That’s how I spent many of my summers when I was young. […] […]

Leave a Reply

