Skills you need to survive.

Posted: April 3, 2008 in Blogging, blogroll, Budget, Community, Family, Finance For Youth, Life, Relationships, Saving

This week’s post might seem to deal less with finance than normal, but stick with me here. We’re going back to moving out a little bit, but today we’re talking about some skills EVERYBODY should pick up. Bringing the whole shebang back to finance, knowing these skills can save you a lot of money, and not knowing them can cost a lot of money.

COOKING: This is a no-brainer, but knowing how to cook is important, especially if you are living on your own. Let’s talk a little about degrees here. When I say cooking, I’m not talking about being able to open a can of tuna for a sandwich, nor am I talking about cooking like THE NAKED CHEF, but you need to learn how to throw a few, cost-efficient, nutritious ingredients together so you don’t starve or so you aren’t forced to spend stupid amounts of money on fast food. There are plenty of books in your library (free books, who knew?) to get you started, and there are also plenty of web sites that can point you towards some decent meals. There are also a few tools that can help you. None of these are essential, but hardly anything really is essential. These are items that come in handy and make life a little easier. I know there are other items that can do the same thing, and sometimes even cheaper, but having these, and many others, makes cooking just that much more fun.

  • Microwave
  • Rice Cooker
  • Crock Pot
  • Sauce Pot
  • Good knife
  • SEWING: When a button falls off, or when you step through a hem, you have a few options: You could buy a new piece of clothing, You can take it to get mended, or you can fix it yourself. Although fixing it yourself might not give you that professional look that the other two options will, you really need to think about degrees of importance. I can only speak for guys here, but if I loose a button, and I sew it back on, this button will be covered by a belt (pants), or possibly a tie (shirt), so it doesn’t matter that much. If I’m trying to do some serious alterations to shorten the length of a sleeve, I will probably take it to have it done, only because I don’t want to relive the COSBY SHOW (VIDEO LINK) episode. Of course, there is a fourth option: You can go back to Mom or Dad and they can help you.

    There are a few other skills that are important for you to know, and I’ll be going over some of the ones I feel are important in the near future. If you can think of any skills you think are important, drop me a line!
    Till next time!

Comments
  1. […] David J Edery wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptWe’re going back to moving out a little bit, but today we’re talking about some skills EVERYBODY should pick up. Bringing the whole shebang back to finance, knowing these skills can save you a lot of […] […]

  2. Anna says:

    Well, I find it extraordinarily interesting

  3. I think that these are great tips – they woudl certainly help anyone to save money. I think that it is also very useful to have some DIY skills. I am useless at DIY and do not even posess a drill. Things woudl much cheaper if I could do the decorating and hang the curtain rails, pictures etc.

  4. Wil says:

    Rachel:

    Thanks for reading, and for the comment!

    DIY doesn’t have to be as hard as it sometimes seems. I failed Wood Shop in High School…, TWICE!!! You get better with practice. Still today, I can “fix” almost anything in my house, but it never looks quite like it did before I fix things. For example, I had to replace the flushing thing on our toilet. When I replaced it, the lever (which was horizontal) was vertical, looking very much like my toilet is flipping me off! Still, it worked just fine.

Leave a Reply

