You mean the Beatles were right??

Posted: February 6, 2008 in Blogging, blogroll, doing good, Finance 4 Youth Family, Finance For Youth, Jobs, Life, Working

I’ve heard it said that you are either an ELVIS person or a BEATLES person. If that’s the case, I am resoundingly in the Elvis camp. I don’t like the Beatles, and I’m not a big fan of any of the original members. That being said, I can’t help but believe that JOHN LENNON had a point when he wrote INSTANT KARMA!” that resonates with me.

Last summer, I wrote about some issues that I had been dealing with. The gist is that an employee decided that they were going to try to take my job BY HOOK OR BY CROOK. She told management that I said some things: Some of the things, I did say, others I didn’t, and some were taken completely out of context. If she were a good employee, I’d have been more worried, but she wasn’t.

I refer to her in the past tense because she is no longer with the company. She was recently terminated for attendance issues. While I’m sorry whenever anybody gets canned, the truth is, I’m relieved. She was a bad employee, she had atrocious attendance, and she basically was nothing more than a drain on the company. Despite the fact that I would try to settle things so that we would be able to work in the same company, if not the same office, she continually tried to escalate confrontation with me. I wish she had been terminated for any of the above reasons, but I’ll take what I get here. She’s gone, and I don’t have to worry about her anymore.

I’ve said it before, and I completely believe its good advice: Don’t get mixed up with office politics. It takes away from your ability to effectively do your job, and there is always someone out there who can do it better. In her case, I hope she learns from the experience, and she becomes a better person for the experience. She had a lot going on in her life (all of which were her creation), and I think she just got in over her head. I don’t think she deliberately behaved badly, but sadly, some lessons have to be learned the hard way.

Comments
  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Susan Kishner

  2. Wil says:

    Susan:

    Thank you for reading, and for the add! I always appreciate it when people encourage me to continue doing this.

Leave a Reply

