It is important to do well, but it is even more important to do good. That’s what guides me in my professional life. The idea that there are people out there with a lot of money who aren’t actively looking for ways to help others with no money saddens me. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not talking about giving away all your money, but if you have enough (and no, I’m not going to define ‘enough’), how much does it hurt to give some of the extra to someone who needs it?

I firmly believe that if more people felt the same way, we’d have a lot fewer problems in the world. Unfortunately, that’s just not what we are taught in America. So, when I see someone who does, I feel that we should celebrate these people. Hence, the first occasional “Finance For Youth; Financial Liberty through Financial Literacy” awards was born. The “Youthies” are about those people who really are about making their lives, and the world, better. I’m still kicking around some ideas for different categories, but doing good is definitely on the list. I’ll probably include other categories based on the QUALITIES OF SUCCESS, and maybe some others.

“But Wil, I know somebody that would be great for a “Youthie”. What should I do?” Good question. If you read something in the news and you think it’s worth nomination for a “youthie”, send me a link with a little commentary of what they did and why you think they deserve a “youthie”. Once I get the categories set up, I’ll run polls and allow you to vote for who you think should win the “youthie”.

What do they win? Well, actually, they win nothing. But it’s still kinda cool. Who knows, if this goes well, I might even award the submitter of a winner with a cool prize.

Leave a Reply

