Wil’s EXCELLENCE Adventure: Qualities of Success

Posted: October 10, 2007 in Blogging, blogroll, Blogs I'm reading!, Community, doing good, F4Y Picks, Family, Finance 4 Youth Family, Finance For Youth, Jobs, Life, Qualities of Success, Relationships, Working

Growing up, my parents placed a really high premium on being the best. They had a lot of sons, and we were constantly compared to each other. That still happens today, but it makes more sense since we are now all adults and on an even playing field. I used to get bothered by the comparisons, and I remember thinking that people shouldn’t have to compete all the time.

When I got my first few jobs, I tried to not compete: I would try to blend in and do enough of the job to keep my job, but not much more. Because of my upbringing, this became very difficult to maintain, and I would naturally become more competitive. When this started happening, I realized that I was becoming the best at which ever job I was doing.

Fast-forward a few years, and I’m a fairly new teller at a bank. I’m the fastest teller in the branch, and I’ve won several awards for being most efficient, friendliest, and others. I find myself in line for a promotion to the New Accounts Area. I ace the interview, and get the job! Not long after, I find out that I really sucked at New Accounts. I was too fast, and not as friendly as I was as a teller. My boss calls me in for a progress report, and we talk about the issue. He told me that he was disappointed, because I had all the traits and talent necessary to be one of the best, but for some reason, I was barely mediocre. Over the next few weeks, we figured out that I was still operating like a teller, and had fallen into a comfort zone that would have been excellent as a teller, but just wasn’t cutting it in my new position.

That’s the funny thing about EXCELLENCE, is that it always changes. There’s nothing wrong with being the best there is at what you do, and there is certainly nothing wrong with pursuing excellence, but you have to understand that you will probably never catch it. And if, for some reason you do, the bar will instantly be set higher for you to try to achieve it again.

But what constitutes excellence? I have always thought that doing the right thing while still doing the correct thing is pretty close. I know, those thoughts seem like the same thing, but they aren’t. Eventually, you will see the difference. Excellence is also about challenging yourself at all times to improve. Let’s get it out in the open and say that you will never reach perfection. I’ll never come close to it. The truth is; I really don’t want to. Once I get there, then what? How do I improve on that?

For your purposes, try to be THE BEST. Try to be perfect. Don’t beat yourself up if you don’t get there, but never stop trying. One of the ways to help your pursuit is to follow the QUALITIES OF SUCCESS. Once you’ve gotten to the point where you are living them, you will see how much fun resetting the bar towards increased personal productivity can be.

Comments
  1. […] Wil wrote a fantastic post today on “Wilâs EXCELLENCE Adventure: Qualities of Success”Here’s ONLY a quick extractGrowing up, my parents placed a really high premium on being the best. They had a lot of sons, and we were constantly compared to each other. That still happens today, but it makes more sense since we are now all adults and on an even … […]

  2. finegallery says:

    thanks alot
    please add my blog to your list
    Your Full Guide To Earn Money Online

Leave a Reply

