QUALITIES OF SUCCESS: Indominitable Spirit

Posted: September 14, 2007 in Blogging, blogroll, Blogs I'm reading!, Community, F4Y Picks, Family, Finance For Youth, Friends, Jobs, Life, Qualities of Success, Relationships, School, Working

This one is going to be relatively short. I’m not going to go into specifics of how this applies to finance especially this time, because I think that having an INDOMINITABLE SPIRIT is crucial to being a SUCCESS in almost every area of life, beyond savings and working.

I’ve often wondered why the first word a child learns is often “NO”. I don’t remember being that young myself, and my wife and I have no kids yet, so it’s something that has perplexed me. When my nephew was born, I thought this would be a good opportunity to finally get this burning question answered, since we would be close enough to observe his growing up.

Kids amaze me. You can sit there and tell a kid not to do something fourteen times in a row before they stop trying (as long as you are paying attention to them), and they seem to have limitless levels of patience. Given the chance, they will wait you out, and they will go on doing whatever it was that they wanted to do, secure in the knowledge that you have been beaten. This indomitable spirit should be an inspiration for anybody who wants to be successful, because they are, for the most part, successful at what they do.

Your whole life, people will tell you that you can’t do something, that you are too young, that you lack experience, or any other excuse. Some people will take those limitations that they are given and will just do whatever they are told is acceptable. I don’t think there is anything inherently wrong with these people, but they are missing the boat on a lot of things. It’s been said that you never know what you can accomplish until you try. I agree with this point of view. I take it a step further by saying that it’s always better to ask forgiveness than permission.

So don’t let people use your youth as a weapon against you. Don’t allow others to put limits on what you can accomplish, just because they weren’t able to do the same at your age.

Leave a Reply

