I’m so lucky.  My credit card company has sent me a letter advising me that they can monitor my account for all sorts of things, and just to show how good they are at this, they are going to pay me $20.00 to try it out.

 

All I have to do is deposit the check they gave me.  No really, that’s it!

 

And this comes on the same day that some company I’ve never dealt with sends me a check for $8,000.00!  All I have to do is cash it.  No really, that’s it!

 

I am so lucky, I wonder what I did to deserve all this good and unexpected luck?

 

Raise your hand, if you were going nuts trying to slap me through the computer, and couldn’t.  No, I haven’t taken leave of my senses.  I know that neither of these are good deals for me.  Of course I destroyed the checks beyond recognition.  But I see people going into banks and credit unions every day with these checks in hand.

 

On the back of these checks is a long paragraph in teeny tiny type.  Each type of check locks you into something for some period of time.  The first locks you into a contract for some service that you really don’t need.  The second locks you into a loan that you really don’t need, and should be a little offended that you received and offer for.

 

The first thing you need to know, if you haven’t requested a check from somebody, and it’s not a family member that is giving the check, you need to not try to attempt to negotiate the check.  The second thing you need to know, if you do receive a check of this type, don’t throw it away.  Accuse me of being paranoid, but I would suggest tearing it in half, shredding it at different times, and in different trash cans if possible.

Comments
  1. […] left off YESTERDAY with a little information about people sending you checks that all you need to do is sign to ‘reap […]

  2. […] left off YESTERDAY with a little information about people sending you checks that all you need to do is sign to ‘reap […]

Leave a Reply

