This is dedicated to Lazy Man and Retire Young

Posted: June 27, 2007 in Blogging, blogroll, Blogs I'm reading!, Budget, F4Y Picks, Finance For Youth, Friends, Life, Saving, Spending

I was reading through some of my favorite blogs, when THIS came up. I liked the post, and some of the points were great. When I was reading the comments LAZY MAN made a fair comment about not seeing men talk about the designer suit they didn’t buy.

So I had to.

A couple of years ago, my wife and I were asked to stand up for our nephew as Godparents for his baptism. Of course we were honored, and said yes. My wife got a nice outfit and I decided that, since I had put on a LOT of weight since the last time I wore a suit, it was a good enough excuse to do so.

Now that I was HUGE, I was kind of limited to the places I could go. I could go to the local fat-guy store (that’s what I call them since I have yet to see a tall guy walk into a big and tall) and get something that I was okay with, or I could go to the high class Fat Gentleman store and have a suit custom made. On a lark, I chose the latter.

I went to the Fat Gentleman store, and tried on this suit that felt like butter. It was easily the nicest suit I had ever worn, and I would have thoroughly enjoyed wearing it. I would have worn it EVERYWHERE. So, I get the guy to take my measurements and write up an order. The cost was $900.00 after everything. My wife and I make good money, but we are both frugal and have both agreed (if I knew what was best for me) that she manage our finances since I have a lot of other things on the table. We made a deal where I tell her about any expenditures that are over a certain amount. I forgot.

When I got home and told her the good news, she flipped out! She couldn’t get over the fact that this suit was well worth the amount of money, since it didn’t come with a bike or something. We had a big fight, I cancelled my order, and never forgave her.

The aftermath:

First, we get to the baptism, and if I would have worn the suit, I would have been woefully overdressed. In fact, I wore a tie, put decided to take it off when I saw that the father wasn’t even wearing a tie.

Second, I needed to get some work done on my car. Anyone guess how much that cost me?

Third, I recently started losing a lot of weight, and the amount of weight would have made the really really nice suit useless.

The lessons here are simple: First, never buy something on an impulse, especially if it costs more than what you have in your pocket. Second, if you have agreed to have someone manage your money in a certain way, stick to it. Third, think ahead before you make any large purchases. When you do this, more often than not you will see that you don’t need to buy as many things.


Comments
  1. alex says:

    Thanks for the link!

    I fluctuate around in weight myself (currently on the heavier end) and its hard to maintain a good wardrobe, b/c I don’t know whether I should buy more clothes for Fat Alex, or if I will be successfull at slimming down.

Leave a Reply

