Holy Crap is it hot!

Posted: June 16, 2007 in Blogging, blogroll, Blogs I'm reading!, F4Y Picks, Family, Finance For Youth, Friends, Life, Relationships, Working

It is freaking hot outside.  My landlord, in an effort to really piss off some previous tenant, must have wrapped this house in aluminum foil, because it is always about ten degrees hotter when its hot, and 10 degrees colder when its cold.

A few years ago, before anybody else had them, my wife and I bought a portable air conditioner.  That is a story in itself, and one for later but it is pretty funny.  Every year, we put it up in our family room and stay cool.  It is pretty efficient, but less powerful than the big units that sit outside a house. 

I’m thinking its about time to crank the thing out, but the electric bill has been very low for us for a while, and I’m not sure I’m willing to give that up yet.  Besides, I have places to go, and I can easily fix it so that I’m not here until it cools down a bit more.

 That’s the thing– every day, there are choices that you need to make that can affect your finances.  The easy thing is for me to break out the AC.  But the easier thing is for me to get out and do the things I need to do.  Of course, the things I need to do cost money, and sitting here doesn’t.

That’s why I encourage young people to think of more than money.  Money is such a small part of my decision-making process.  Not because I have unlimited money to play with, but because there are other factors that are more important, and because there can always be finance arguments made on both sides of any issue.  In short, don’t let money dictate your life!

 Now, I’m getting out of this oven and getting some work accomplished!

Leave a Reply

