From the Founder of Finance For Youth

Posted: April 3, 2007 in Blogging, blogroll, Blogs I'm reading!, Consumer Issues, F4Y Picks, Family, Finance For Youth, Friends, Life, Other Sites, Relationships, School

Okay, I’m pissed.

First, I’d like to thank all of those who have read, participated, or linked to this or other sites in the F4Y family.  This post is NOT directed towards you.  For the most part, you are good people, and I thank you again for making this what it is. 

 Last week, I did a post on dating, and I did another one on Spring Break.  The post on dating got a lot of traffic, and I’m grateful to everyone who helped with that traffic increase.

I got a few comments, and I appreciate those who were brave enough to comment on my blog.  I also got flooded with email.  At first, I dismissed everything as a prank pulled by some immature idiots.  As those emails got forwarded, I see that was not so much the case, and it pisses me off.

As most know, there is another issue going on in the blogosphere that I will not mention directly, because I don’t want to take away from the seriousness of that issue by comparing it with the antics of a few morons.  Suffice to say, what happened to me is by no means close to that level.

The emails I got condemned me for tacitly approving of the debauchery of young people.  I was actually accused of instigating children behaving inappropriately by not calling for abstinence, sobriety, and high morality.  These emails, which will not be reprinted here because I don’t want to give any attention the authors want, claimed to be from religious groups who “monitor the web for those who promote evil to the youth”.  Some of what they said was very un-christian-like.

Let me clear up what appears to be some misconceptions about what Finance For Youth is, and is not, about:

  • Finance For Youth is strictly about promoting strong, proven, practices in the realm of personal finance.
  • Finance For Youth is about teaching young people how to handle their finances in such a manner as to help them to live comfortably in the future.
  • F4Y is NOT about teaching morals to young people.  If you want your young people to learn your morality, then you should teach them.  I make no pretense of being morally perfect, nor do I expect young people to be so.
  • F4Y is NOT about any religious affiliation.  For the record, I am Roman Catholic, but I do NOT inject my personal beliefs onto unsuspecting youths.  In fact, I rarely, if ever, talk about my religion at all.  Personally, I don’t believe it has anything to do with personal finance, so the topic does not come up.
  • F4Y, and any of the people that I allow to post for F4Y, have no vested interest in making sure that young people follow the morals of their parents.  I, and those who work with me, clearly advocate doing good in the world, but we leave the definition of what that good is up to the individual.

I don’t now, nor have I ever, suggested that young people act in any way that is contrary to how they are taught to act by their parents.  By the way, if you are a parent of a young person who reads this blog, or visits any of the sites in the F4Y family, YOU should be teaching your kids right from wrong.  My job is to teach them how to handle their money.  YOUR job is to teach them how to act in the world.

I still haven’t fully decided how I plan on handling the idiocy of those who profess to believe in God, but act in such a manner towards their fellow man.  All I do know, is that the kind of grand mall stupidity that you have engaged in will not alter my course, nor will it distract me from my ultimate goal of teaching young people that which they should learn in school or from their parents, but don’t.  You can feel free to try to intimidate me again, but have the testicular fortitude to do so on the blog, not in my personal email.  For the 99.999999% of the rest of you, the good people, if you have suggestions about what I should do, feel free to comment.

If, as I suspect, this is the result of some dumb kid with an overabundance of time and a lack of sense, to quote the late Jack Palance, “Boy, I s### bigger than you.”  If I were you, I would take a good, long look at myself and my priorities before I came near a computer again.  If this is a bible-thumping campaign, my best advice is to move on to someone who is intimidated by your juvenile tactics.

Yours,

William J. Stanton

Founder, Finance For Youth

www.finance4youth.com

wil@finannce4youth.com

Comments
  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptOkay, I’m pissed. First, I’d like to thank all of those who have read, participated, or linked to this or other sites in the F4Y family. This post is NOT directed towards you. For the… Personal Finance For Youth. … […]

Leave a Reply

