Personal Finance Bloggers

Posted: March 2, 2007 in Blogging, blogroll, Blogs I'm reading!, Finance For Youth, Friends, Jobs, Life, Other Sites, Technology, Working

I’ve been getting a lot of questions lately about blogging, specifically PF blogging.  A lot of new people are coming on the scene every day, and they all want some sort of mentoring.  For some reason, a lot of them have been coming to me.

I’m flattered by this, and I really appreciate everyone’s confidence and faith that I will be able to help them.  I hope that I can continue to live up to that confidence and earn that faith.  I am, at heart, an educator, and I look forward to any opportunity to help educate the next generation.

 That being said, as some of you out there may have already found out, I can be brutal.  I can rip something apart if I think it doesn’t live up to the potential or the desires of those who ask for my opinion.  I don’t do this to be mean, on the contrary, I do this because I feel obliged to care about what you do as much as I think you care about what you do.  I think this is better than patting you on the head and marvelling at what a good job you are doing.  I think you deserve better.

To that end, here are the rules, so anybody who wants to ask my advice or opinion knows.

  1. Do not ask for my advice or my opinion unless you really want to hear it.
    1. I don’t believe in platitudes, and I don’t want to waste either your time or mine by blowing smoke.
  2. No matter how negative I sound, it’s important for you all to know that I will only be negative if I think it will benefit you.  If I didn’t like you, or if I didn’t really like your work, I would ignore you, your work, and any request for help.
  3. I’m not perfect.  No matter how much I want to believe otherwise, at the end of the day, my opinion is really just that– My opinion.
    1. Don’t feel that you have to change who you are or what your message is just because I ripped you apart.
    2. You know better than I do, what your message is, and who you are aiming for.  Feel free to disregard any advice I give if you feel that it is stupid.
    3. If you choose to ignore my advice, please don’t ask me for different advice.  I won’t give it.  My opinion rarely changes. 

If you look at my blogroll, you will see a new category labled “F4Y picks”.  This will be a community of sites that I really think have the game down.  These are going to be the blogs that I frequent the most, and these will be the blogs that I will refer my readers to if there is a question that I don’t feel is best for me to answer.  This is a tough group to belong to, and to be fair, I will not move any of my current blogroll there unless a) they ask, and b) their site passes muster.

 If you are a blogger, and you wish to become a F4Y pick, e-mail me at:  wil@finance4youth.com.  Leave me your name, the site name, a brief description of your theme (message, not template), and a reason WHY you believe your site has what it takes.  I don’t know what all criteria I will be looking for, but if someone wants to grease the wheels, a link to my blog will certainly help.  Of course, so does candy.

 If you are a blogger, especially a PF blogger, and you want my opinion or advice on anything, also email me at:  wil@finance4youth.com.  There are a few of you out there who can vouch that I will personally answer your request. 

Thanks!

-W

William J. Stanton

Founder, Finance For Youth.

www.finance4youth.com

wil@finance4youth.com

Leave a Reply

