Why I don’t talk about investing

Posted: January 30, 2007 in Banking, Blogs I'm reading!, Consumer Issues, Finance For Youth, Financial Institutions, Friends, Investing, Life

I get a lot of questions from so called “experts” in the field about my absolute refusal to teach investment to youth. They claim that the only way to become rich or even financially self sufficient is through investing. Some of them even name famous people who became wealthy through investment.

Let me set the record straight here. I’m not against investing. I’m also not against expensive cars, fancy clothes, week-long trips to Las Vegas with the sole intent of gambling, or any number of other things that some wealthy people partake in. Finance For Youth isn’t about teaching young people how to potentially become financially literate. Finance For Youth is about guiding young people to the point where they ARE financially literate, maybe even literate enough to make smart choices about investing. Second, all of those famous people are famous because they are the exception, not the rule.

I also want to clear the record on many lies that are told about investing. Some people say that the ONLY way to become rich is through investing. Most of these people get rich on commission checks for convincing people to invest through them. These people aren’t necessarily bad, but they definitely have ulterior motives. Look, I’m not against someone trying to make a living, but I am against people trying to take advantage of young people’s ignorance to make that living. This is the same reason I’m against Banks, Credit Unions, Credit Card companies, Investment houses, Mortgage companies, or any other company that has a vested interest in convincing you to patronize their services “teaching” financial classes in school. To me, this amounts to nothing more than a directed sales pitch to a captive audience.

Does that mean they don’t have something good to say? Probably not, but it does mean that I take what they say with a huge grain of salt.

So, to all the investment pushers, investment clubs, banks, credit unions, “consumer credit advocates”, or anybody else out there who is hawking their particular brand of financial literacy, I get it– different strokes for different folks. I’m not standing in your way to making a living.

Of course, that changes the second I see you preying on those without proper training to make informed decisions. Once I see that, I will do everything in my power to point you out as the frauds you are.

To the rest of you who want to learn to make intelligent decisions, please feel free to continue to read, subscribe, and most of all, to ask questions. Tell your friends the same.

Comments
  1. […] ASK THE ADVISOR has listed us as one of the 25 most influential INVESTMENT blogs. This is really cool to me, since I don’t really talk about investing. Anyways, thanks […]

Leave a Reply

